BIO-DATA

Dr. A. Subhananda Rao,

Director, (Research &consultancy), VNR vignana jyothi Institute of science & Technology, Hyderabad & Chief consultant and Advisor, SKYROOT AEROSPACE



..Born in 1950, **Dr. A. Subhananda Rao**, is a **gold medalist** during graduation (Mech. Engineering) from National Institute of Technology, Warangal. He continued his academic excellence during his M.E (Aeronautics) from prestigious IISc, Bangolare, by receiving "**Roll of Honor**". He completed his doctorate from Osmania University, Hyderabad on topic entitled "**Fracture Behavior of Solid Propellant Rocket Motor Grains**". He has over **86 technical publications** to his credit in various journals and seminar/conference proceedings. He has participated and chaired sessions in national and international seminars.

He joined DRDO after his postgraduation. He served DRDO in various capacities, as director propulsion in DRDL and ASL, Hyderabad; , Director High Energy Materials Research Laboratory, Pune; Director, Armament Research and Development Laboratory, Pune; Director Gasturbine Research Establishment ,Bangalore ;Distinguished Scientist and Chief controller R&D (Aeronautics) . After superannuation , he joined VNR Vignanajyoti Institute of Engineering and Technology,Hyderabad as Director, Advancement and Dean, Research and Consultancy. Later he served as CEO of VignanaJyothi group of Institutions . Later he joined in Srinidhi Institute of science and Technology as Director, Advancement and Research and served till 31st August 2019. Presently working as *Director*, (Research &consultancy), VNR vignana jyothi Institute of science &Technology, Hyderabad& Chief consultant and Advisor, SKYROOT AEROSPACE

For his contributions, he has several awards and honors to his credit

- 1. Gold Shield award for import substitution for surface-to-air missile SAM-II
- 2. **Distinguished Alumni award** from his alma-matter NIT, Warangal.
- 3. Samaj-Shri and order of merit from Indian Council of Management Executives
- 4. **Scientist of the Year award 2005** from DRDO –Received from Prime Minister of India
- 5. DRDO Spin-off Technology Award 2006 (as team leader) Received from Prime Minister of India
- 6. **Titanium Trophy 2007 (as Head of establishment)**. –Received from Prime Minister of India
- 7. DRDO performance excellence award –2007 (as Team member)
- 8. Path Breaking Research Award in 2006 and in 2007 (as team member)
- 9. **Distinguished Alumni award** in 2008 from IISC, Bangalore.
- 10. Special award in 2010 from DRDO for propellant manufacturing facility at Nasik (as team leader)- received from Prime Minister of India

He served as **President of High Energy Materials Society of India (HEMSI)** and **Chairman of AeSI** (Aeronautical Society of India), Pune Chapter. He is Fellow of Institution of Engineers (India), Fellow of Aeronautical Society of India , Fellow of High Energy Materials Society of India and member of ISAMPE & Astronautical Society of India.